Skip to main content

Regional Partnership

a flock of seagulls flying over carmel river beach by scott norton

Regional Coordination

As the Council of Governments for Santa Cruz County and Monterey County, AMBAG holds responsibility for one of the two regional housing needs allocation (RHNA) for our region. San Benito Council of Governments issues the RHNA determination for San Benito County and cities within.

Planning Process Alignment

Senate Bill 375 sets forth new consistency requirements between transportation planning processes and housing planning processes. More specifically, the regional housing needs allocation (RHNA) must be consistent with the Sustainable Communities Strategy (SCS) development pattern. For the Monterey Bay Area, these requirements necessitate extensive coordination between three regional transportation planning agencies, two major transit agencies, 21 local jurisdictions, two councils of government and AMBAG, the region's metropolitan planning organization.

The region's three Regional Transportation Planning Agencies - Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission, the Transportation Agency for Monterey County, and San Benito Council of Governments - produce countywide Regional Transportation Plans, which shape the metropolitan transportation plan (MTP) for the Monterey Bay Area. Coordinating the planning processes across the region will require active participation of each of these agencies.

Additional Services